Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Blog Launch Tour: Andy Smithson: Disgrace of the Unicorn's Honor

Author L.R.W. Lee

LeeSince the age of eight, L.R.W. Lee wanted to write a children's book, but felt she did not have anything significant to share; she sought to change lives while entertaining.  A degree in Accounting did not provide riveting fodder for a best seller, so she waited.  Over a decade, she founded and grew a company, during which, she worked closely with a mentor from whom she learned uncommon thinking that changed her life.  After selling her business in early 2012, she had time to write and, more importantly, something significant to share.  L.R. W. Lee lives in scenic Austin, TX with her husband, daughter and son.  
When asked by the author if I wanted to participate in the tour for her newest book Andy Smithson Disgrace of the Unicorn's Honor, I was thrilled.  After reading the first two books, I really wanted to return to the fantasy setting and wonderful characters that I've enjoyed reading about. 

For those not familiar with the series, I'll give a short recap.  Andy Smithson's Blast of the Dragons Fury introduced Imogenia, a ghost who is in the Afterlife.  Imogenia  had aspirations of being Queen, until her brother killed her and became King.  As a means of revenge, Imogenia placed a curse on her brother and the people of Oomaldee.  The curse lasted for 500 years, until Imogenia's parents decided that the curse should end.  The King was allowed to find a descendant (Andy) to end the curse, but he could not reveal himself or directly help in anyway.  Andy embarked on a quest to collect the first ingredient needed to end the curse.   Venom of the Serpent's Cunning takes place nine months later. Imogenia has joined forces with Abbadon, someone who is evil and wants to take over the country. Using dark magic,  Abaddon was able to steal the Stone of Athanasia, the very stone that has allowed the King and his wizard to stay immortal.  Andy is once again on a quest to find the next ingredient to end the curse, but now he must also recover the stone. Be sure to check out my reviews of  Book One Andy Smithson Blast of the Dragon's Fury.   and Book Two Andy Smithson Venom of the Serpent's Cunning

Paperback, 252 pages
Published :  October 13th 2014 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format:  In exchange for an honest review, an ebook ARC was received from the author for review.  
"Andy discovers more than he bargained for when his parents reveal his mom's past. With a new appreciation for his history, he returns to the land of Oomaldee to collect the next ingredient to break the Curse plaguing the land--the horn of a unicorn. Not unexpectedly, as he and his company embark upon their quest, they face stiff opposition from the evil King Abaddon, a foreign enemy who seeks to conquer that world. The battle with sword, while intense, pales in comparison to his conflicted heart, when a voice tempts Andy to surrender the unicorn horn in exchange for a promise to preserve his mom when he breaks the curse. Desperate to save her, he falls for the lie and puts in jeopardy his ability to end the curse." (Synopsis from Goodreads)

The eBook  Amazon 
The paperback is also available at Amazon 

The third book in the Andy Smithson series contains plenty of action, and a difficult challenge for Andy.  A tough predicament making the choice to break a curse or preserving the mom he loves. I found myself missing Andy's inneru, the voice that speaks to him and usually gives him sound advice.   Disgrace of the Unicorn's Honor expands the world and Lee introduces some new mythical creatures that help Andy and his friends on their journey.  Other creatures Andy meets in the heat of battle, like trolls and giants.  But, Andy is always learning from each interaction and adventure he has.  In each book, Lee weaves all these wonderful principles into her story.  Principles like responsibility, diligence and dignity, in such a way that enriches the story and doesn't come off as preachy or educational.   I've really enjoyed following Andy as he learns more about his families past and journey's to locate the ingredients he needs to help stop the curse.   The plot keeps getting better and better and I'm always left wondering how he will get out of the danger he gets into next.  I have loved following this series from the beginning.  It has just the right blend of adventure, magical creatures, strong friendships, mystery and humor.  As always, Lee leaves me wanting to read the next book in the series (Andy Smithson: Resurrection of the Phoenix's Grace). Unfortunately, I'll have to wait until she finishes writing it.  

Thank you L.R.W. Lee at for introducing me to this wonderful series and having me on the tour!  Check out all the other tour stops: 

Clean Indie Reads - Book Launch Spotlight
Emblazoners - Book Launch Highlight
Dragon Writers Collective - Book Launch Spotlight
Home School Book Review - Book Review by Wayne Walker

SilverTill's Shelfari - Book Review by Bill Tillman
Beach Bound Books - Book Spotlight by Stacie Thies
Carpinello's Writing Pages - Book Spotlight by Cheryl Carpinello
Ask David - Book Spotlight

This Kid Reviews Books Blog - Book Review by Erik Weibel (Erik is 13)
Independent Author Network - Book Spotlight

Kickin Books - Book Review by Bert Edens
Cassandra Lost in Books - Book Review by Cassandra Loskot

I am a Reader - Book Spotlight by Inspired Kathy
Mcswainandbeck - Book Spotlight

Rena Writes - Book Review by Rena Marthaler (Rena is 10)
Fantasy Fun with Kirstin - Book Spotlight by Kirstin Pulioff
Book Review by Hannah Mills

Brooke Blogs - Book Review by Brooke Bumgardner
The Pitkin Family - Book Review by Jennifer Pitkin

Log Cabin Library - Book Review by Brenda

KY Bunnies - Book Spotlight by Suzie
Pragmatic Mom - Book Spotlight by Mia Wenjen

Bookworm Lisa - Book Spotlight

Radio Interview at The Good Word - Interview by Nick Galieti

1 comment: